50 Shades of Grey – Day 17

Day17

‘Self Inflicted’ – Counting down.

“Many people think excitement is happiness…. But when you are excited you are not peaceful. True happiness is based on peace.”
― Thich Nhat Hanh

By doing this countdown project and all the events leading up to it, the obstacles that have gone down while doing it has brought me just a bit closer to ‘peace’ and to finding true happiness.

We are all human and seeking the same thing, we just have our own ways of getting there. No one can be ‘happy’ all the time, because life throws things in our way and we know how that works!

But finding inner peace and true happiness, that is what I am striving for. I have never really been ‘unhappy’ in my life, perhaps discontent at times, self conscious, gone through periods of self doubt, anxiety, sad because of loss . . . and I am sure there will be more times during my life that these instances will crop up. But I will deal with them one at a time and try to remain peaceful through them all in my search for truth and peace. I feel I have made great strides in the last few weeks. So much so, that people unaware of this project have noticed a difference in me and commented on it. The great thing about getting older is you really do become wiser! Oh ya, and Seinfeld still makes me happy !

In the background on the wall is, yes . . . another self portrait I did this year called ‘Remain Nameless” – all part of ‘dissolving the ego’.

Leave a Reply

