Strength comes from Struggle

20140322-195734.jpg
Giving up on a friendship over indifference is like giving up opportunities to become stronger, better and hopefully wiser. Friends are supposed to be able to talk openly, share feelings, experience life – good or bad. I do not expect friends to be a mould I have made and they must fit into that mould or they do not fit into my life. I do however have expectations of people I care about. I expect them to respect my emotions, as I would theirs. I expect them to reach out when I am am in need or in pain, as I would for them. I expect a friend to just call (or text) to say hi, not just for a reason of wanting or needing something other than the need or want to communicate with me, as little or as much as they like. I expect to find myself in a discussion with a friend if we do not agree on something and talk it out – not just close the book and walk away. Not making time for my real friends is just something I cannot comprehend NOT doing.

I have lost a friend. If almost feels like a death. I want them to spread their wings and discover what lies ahead. I want them to find happiness. Friends are like a garden, you must nurture, water, spend time in it, enjoy it, reap all it has flourished. But if you stop spending time, stop watering, stop enjoying the growth & stop talking to them . . . it will all dry up and die.

There was a mourning period for me, a time when I was angry. By writing this — I am letting go. Ciao my little engine. I wish for you a happy and fulfilling life, surrounded by loving friends.

“Sometimes the door closes on a relationship, not because we failed but because something bigger than us says this no longer fits our life. So, lock the door, shed a tear, turn around and look for the new door that’s opened. It’s a sign that you’re no longer that person you were, it’s time to change into who you are. It’s going to be okay.”
― Lee Goff

2 responses to “Strength comes from Struggle

Leave a Reply

